deutsch / english  
Steffi Jüngling 
La biblioteca di Babel 
 
Stations
Venice
Kassel
Plovdiv
Odesa
Kiev
Birjusa
XXX
Ulan-Ude


With a vague idea for a piece in my mind Steffi Jüngling went to to a small library on the island of Giudecca/Venice searching for the beginnings of books and stories.

Looking for her favourite authors she came across Jorge Luis Borges' fictions’. „La Biblioteca di Babel" is one of the stories in this book and finding it in this library on an outpost of Venice drew her attention.

In this story an ultimate library, a place for all books, all knowledge and all languages is imagined. Thinking about the idea of this utopian library she started to work on building a version of the Borgesian Babel-library by setting up a network of libraries all over the world tied together by his story.

So the first sentence of the text has been placed onto a wall within the library of the centro civico/Guidecca/Venice with vinyl letters. Then, the story was taken on an ongoing journey, during which libraries on the way each are hosting one sentence of it; successively the whole story, sentence by sentence will be placed in libraries all over the world, each sentence translated in the language of the country

   
  ©2004 Steffi Jüngling, www.jungling.de

deutsch / english  
Steffi Jüngling 
La biblioteca di Babel 
 
Stationen
Venedig
Kassel
Plovdiv
Odessa
Kiew
Birjusa
XXX
Ulan-Ude


Mit einer eher vagen Idee für eine künstlerische Arbeit besuchte Steffi Jüngling eine kleine Bibliothek auf der Insel Giudecca in Venedig. Sie war auf der Suche nach Anfängen von Geschichten und Büchern und suchte dort zunächst nach den von ihr favorisierten Autoren.

Ganz oben auf ihrer Liste stand „Borges“ und in der Bibliothek fand sie seinen Band „Ficciones“-„Fiktionen“. „Die Bibliothek von Babel“ ist eine der in dem Band gesammelten Erzählungen und die Tatsache, dass sich diese Geschichte in einer kleinen Bibliothek auf der Insel Giudecca befand erweckte ihre Aufmerksamkeit.

In dem Text wird eine ultimative Bibliothek imaginiert, ein Ort, an dem alle Bücher, alles Wissen und alle Sprachen versammelt sind. Beim Nachdenken über diese ultimative Bibliothek, begann sie das Konzept für die „Konstruktion“ einer Version von Borges’ Bibliothek von Babel zu erarbeiten, bei der Bibliotheken auf der ganzen Welt durch diese Geschichte verbunden werden sollen.

Der erste Satz der Erzählung wurde auf Italienisch in der Bibliothek des Centro Civico auf Guidecca in Venedig angebracht. Dann ging die Geschichte auf eine andauernde Reise, auf der sie in Bibliotheken auf der ganzen Welt Satz für Satz und in der jeweiligen Landessprache erzählt werden wird.

   
  ©2004 Steffi Jüngling, www.jungling.de